How do banana trees grow?

The banana is a perennial plant that replaces itself. Bananas do not grow from a seed but from a bulb or rhizome, and it takes 9 to 12 months from sowing a banana bulb to harvesting the fruit. The plants need rich, dark and fertile soils with steady moisture in the air and ground and good drainage.