What did burma used to be called?

Several kingdoms existed in this region prior to colonization. Kingdom of Pagan (847–1297 CE) was the earliest, followed by the Taungoo and Konbaung dynasties, and numbers of small kingdoms. Britain applied the name "Burma" in the mid-19th century, and since 1989 the official name has been Myanmar.