When did jackie robinson start playing?

Jackie Robinson played for the Negro League team the Kansas City Monarchs in 1945 and the Minor League team Montreal Royals in 1946. He made his major league debut on April 15, 1947, as the Brooklyn Dodgers' first baseman.