What is a half double crochet?

The half double crochet stitch is one of the most common crochet stitches. The stitch is taller than a single crochet stitch, yet shorter than double crochet stitch. The process of making a half double crochet stitch is very similar to single crochet, with one extra yarn-over at the beginning.