Why is space dark?

When you look through earth's atmosphere you see blue and light. The earth's atmosphere absorbs red while reflecting and filtering blue. In outer space there is no atmosphere to absorb, reflect or filter light. The light you see from stars and planets has nothing to absorb or filter the light.