What is tartar sauce?

Tarter sauce is a condiment primarily composed of mayonnaise and finely chopped capers. Tartar sauce can also be enhanced with the addition of gherkins, other varieties of pickles, and lemon juice as well as herbs such as dill and parsley.

---

A mixture of mayonnaise and sweet pickle relish.