Why do people start carving pumpkins?

Carving Jack o'lanterns began in Ireland in 19th century. In Ireland, turnips were carved to frighten off Stingy Jack, a legendary spirit who appeared on Halloween. Irish immigrants in America carried on the tradition with pumpkins, a native American vegetable.