Why do we have different time zones?

Scientists made different time zones according to the earth's rotation with respect to the sun. The earth makes one full 360 degrees rotation in 24 hours. This means in one hour, the earth moves by 15 degrees. Using this information, scientist divided the planet into 24 sections or time zones.