How long does it take to pickle carrots?

Combine vinegar, sugar, salt, peppercorns, mustard seeds, and 1/2 cup water in a small pot. Bring to a boil over high heat, stirring occasionally. Immediately pour over carrots. Let cool to room temperature, then cover and refrigerate at least 2 hours before serving.