What's the difference between a reindeer and a regular deer?

Although both members of the deer family a reindeer is a caribou which lives in a very harsh tundra environment ;while deer prefer a more inviting environment. Their diet also differs as the reindeer relies a lot on lichen and moss while deer eat it only as a necessity, when time are tough for them