Why did frank leave the show american pickers?

Frank had taken a break during seasons 8 and 9 and took to Facebook to explain his absence, writing: “A lot of you have been wondering about my health and my weight loss. "I have an illness called Crohn's [disease], which at times is difficult to deal with.