What happened to the houston oiler football team?

The Houston Oiler franchise played in Houston from 1960 to 1996. The franchise moved to Tennessee and became the Titans.

---

In 1997, the Houston Oilers became the first NFL team to call Tennessee home when the franchise relocated to the Volunteer state, first to Memphis and then to Nashville. In 1999, the franchise retired the nickname Oilers, and became known as the Titans.