What does pet scan mean?

PET Scan stands for positron emission tomography. A PET scan uses a special radioactive tracing dye which is injected or given orally. The dye collects in areas of the body with higher chemical activity and is useful in diagnosing such conditions as cancer, heart problems and brain disorders.

---

The acronym PET in PET scan stands for positron emission tomography.