When were lemons invented?

The lemon wasn’t exactly invented and their precise origin is unknown. However, what is know is that they are a cross breed between two citrus fruits, the bitter orange and the citron. The origin is south east Asia, and the lemon shows up in the Mediterranean basin around 100AD.