How common are spiders?

North America is home to about 3,400 species of spiders. Spiders are arachnids, and they're related to scorpions, mites, and ticks. Unfortunately, spiders can and do make their way into our homes. Thankfully, the most common types of house spiders are harmless to humans, but there are exceptions.