Where did holy moly come from?

According to Wikipedia, Holy Moly is an exclamation of surprise that dates from at least 1892. It is most likely a minced oath, a cleaned-up version of a taboo phrase such as "Holy Moses". It was popularized in the U.S. as an expression often used by Billy Batson, the alter ego of Captain Marvel.