What does it mean to be blue pilled?

The reference is from the movie the matrix where the main character is given a choice between a red pill or a blue pill. The red pill opens the mind to see the world for what it really is and blue pill keeps the mind closed to the reality as they know. Being blue pilled is usually derogatory.