Is obsidian hard?

On the Moh's hardness scale obsidian is rated 5 out of a possible 10 which means it is relatively soft and can be carved.

---

Obsidian is rated at 5 to 5.5 on the Mohs scale of mineral hardness, with diamond rated at 10, and talc rated at 1. It has very high tensile strength, but is also very brittle due to low compressive strength.