Who were the hopi indians?

The Hopi people are descendants of the Pueblo people in the southwestern United States. They largely live in the Hopi Reservation in Northeastern Arizona, established in 1882 and surrounded by the Navajo nation. Their name, Hopi, is a shortened form of a phrase meaning "the peaceful people".