When was football founded?

American football developed from Rugby & Association football as played in the UK thru a series of rule changes made in the late 19th & early 20th centuries by Walter Camp, Eddie Cochems, Amos Alonzo Stagg, Parke H. Davis, Knute Rockne, Glenn "Pop" Warner, & others with the NFL founded in 1920.