When was j. edgar hoover head of the f. b. i.?

John Edgar Hoover was the first Director of the Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI). He was appointed as the director of the Bureau of Investigation – the FBI's predecessor – in 1924 and was a founder of the FBI in 1935. He remained the director for 37 years until his death in 1972.