How can you see ultraviolet light?

The human eye cannot see ultraviolet light at all. You can detect ultraviolet by using special machines, but that's still not the same as being able to see it.

---

How can you see ultraviolet light? The human retina is sensitive to the ultraviolet (UV) spectrum down to about 300 nanometres, but the lens of the eye filters it out. This adaptation perhaps arose to protect the retina from the more damaging UV.