How does overtime work in the n. b. a.?

First and foremost, overtime only occurs when two teams are tied at the end of regulation. If that happens, both go into a standard five-minute overtime period. For all intents and purposes, those five minutes are treated like any other quarter when it comes to scoring and rules.