What is the most common last name?

Here is the history and meaning behind some of the most common last names in the world. In the United States, Australia, Great Britain, and many other English-speaking countries, the most popular last name is Smith. The most popular last name in the world is Wang, meaning "king."

---

The most common surnames in the world are Lee, Zhang, Wang, Nguyen, Garcia, Gonzalez, Hernandez, Smith, Smirnov, and Müller.

---

The most common name in the United States of America is, Smith. With Johnson in second,, and Williams in third.

---

Smith is the most common in English speaking countries. Wang is the most most common in the world.