What is the difference between fruits and vegetables?

"Fruits" develop from the flower of a plant; the remainder of the plant, roots, stems and leaves are vegetables. Fruits have seeds; vegetables do not. So tomatoes and avocados, for example, are fruits. Potatoes, radishes, celery and lettuce, again for example, are vegetables.