What is a tank top?

A tank top is a casual sleeveless shirt, commonly worn under a button up dress shirt, but often worn by itself in warm weather by both men and women. It derives its name from the "tank suits", one piece bathing suits, worn in pools or "tanks" in the 1920s; sometimes called a "wife beater" in the US