How many species of gerbils are there?

There are lots of color variations of gerbils but only 2 species are commonly sold for pets. These are Mongolian gerbils and Fat-Tailed gerbils. The fat-tailed gerbils are found in the Sahara Desert natively, and like their name implies, have shorter and fatter tails than Mongolian gerbils.

---

More than 110 species of gerbils are living in African, Indian and Asian deserts. However, only two species are kept as pets.