What rank is staff sergeant?

Staff Sergeant is one of the enlisted ranks. In the U.S. Marine Corps and the U.S. Army it is an E6, in the U.S. Air Force it is an E5. Enlisted ranks (known a E ranks) range from E1 through E9. The U.S. Navy and the Coast Guard call their E6 ranks Petty Office 1st Class.