Are cats social animals?

Cats are social animals that, in feral conditions, live in groups consisting of queens and their litters. The density of the group depends partly on food resources. Most cats are solitary hunters that prey on rodents and other small animals, likely why their coexistence with people is so successful.

---

The Felidae or cat family are solitary predators and (with the exception of lions) do not live in socially structured groups.