How much salt is in the gulf of mexico?

The Gulf of Mexico has a volume of 2.4 million cubic kilometers, so assuming an average salinity of 35 grams per liter and an average density of one kilogram per liter, the Gulf has 8.4 times 10 to the 17th kilograms of salt.