What kind of car is lightning queen?

Corvette Fernie goes on to tell his Drive Tribe readers about how the producer of Cars, John Lasseter, decided to generalize Lightning McQueen's design by morphing the original Corvette design into a combination of a Corvette, a NASCAR vehicle, and a Ford GT40 roadster.