What is citronella?

Citronella is an essential oil obtained from the leaves and stems of different species of lemongrass. The oil is used extensively in soap, candles and incense, perfumery, cosmetic, and flavouring industries throughout the world. Citronella oil is also a plant-based insect repellent.