Is a dry measuring cup the same as a liquid measuring cup?

Yes, but it depends on what you are measuring. You should measure flour in a dry measuring cup that you can level off with a knife. You can measure liquid in a dry measuring cup, but it's easier to measure a half cup of liquid in a clear liquid measuring cup.