How do you tell how old a deer is?

Aging analysis often is based on the wear of the molars, which lose about 1 mm of height per year. It takes a deer about 10.5 years to wear its teeth down to the gum line. Therefore, its difficult to determine the age of a deer that's older than 10.5 years.