When was the san francisco gold rush?

The California Gold Rush began on January 24th, 1848 when gold was discovered by James W. Marshall at Sutter's Mill, near Coloma. It lasted until 1855. During the rush 300,000 people migrated to California where the prior population had been under 100,000.