What does way come from?

Whey is an animal-based protein made from the unwanted scraps of milk and cheese. Milk contains two main types of protein: casein (80%) and whey (20%). In its original liquid state, whey is a mixture of mostly water with some protein, fat, carbohydrates and lactose.