Can the human body digest corn?

The outside of a kernel of corn is made up of cellulose, which the body cannot digest. The inside of kernels, however, is delicious and quite digestible!

---

Most of the internal nutrients are broken down and absorbed into your bloodstream. The fibrous outer shells of corn kernels, however, do not break down due to lack of the necessary digestive enzymes.