Who was madame butterfly?

Madam Butterfly (in Italian Madama Butterfly) is one of opera's most enduring tales of unrequited love. Puccini's poignant score follows the tragic tale of Cio Cio San, a young Japanese girl who falls in love with American naval officer Pinkerton, with devastating consequences.