Why do crabs move sideways?

Crabs walk sideways for the same reason humans walk forward! Crabs have their legs situated underneath their bodies, with their knees bending outward. Intrinsically, crabs walk sideways because their legs are positioned with their knees pointing sideways, instead of forward.