What are the characteristics of a liter?

Litre (l), also spelled liter, unit of volume in the metric system, equal to one cubic decimetre (0.001 cubic metre). From 1901 to 1964 the litre was defined as the volume of one kilogram of pure water at 4 °C (39.2 °F) and standard atmospheric pressure; in 1964 the original.