What is clay?

Clay is a stiff, sticky fine-grained earth, typically yellow, red, or bluish-gray in color and often forming an impermeable layer in the soil, and Is a sediment with particles smaller than silt, typically less than 0.00016 inch. It can be molded when wet, and dried & baked to make bricks, ceramics.