What's the largest earthquake?

The largest recorded earthquake was of 9.5 magnitude and occured on May 22, 1960 at Vildivia in Chile. It is known as the 1960 Vildivia Earthquake.

---

1960 Valdivia earthquake is the largest earthquake ever recorded, at a magnitude of 9.4 to 9.6. It happened on May 22, 1960 and lasted about 10 minutes.