What's the story about gandhi?

Mahatma Ghandi was the leader of India's non-violent independence movement against British rule and in South Africa who advocated for the civil rights of Indians. Born in Porbandar, India, Ghandi studied law and organized boycotts against British institutions in a form of civil disobedience.