Did chuck barris ever work for the c. i. a.?

In a 1984 autobiography Barris wrote that he worked for the CIA. His book, Confessions of a Dangerous Mind, was made into a movie directed by George Clooney. The CIA denied that Barris ever worked for them in any capacity.