Who invented the sky scraper?

There is no easy answer here, as skyscrapers have been defined differently over hundreds of years. Some may consider the ancient pyramids to be a very tall building.

---

The first sky scraper, the Hone Life Insurance Building, was invented by Chicago Architect William LeBaron Jenney.