Tell me about the history of singapore?

Singapore was occupied by the Japanese from 1942 to 1945. After the war, Singapore reverted to British control and merged with the Federation of Malaya to form Malaysia in 1963. However, due to social unrest, Singapore was expelled from Malaysia and became an independent republic on 9 August 1965.