How are volcanoes?

A volcano is formed when hot molten rock, ash and gases escape from an opening in the Earth's surface. ... Hot ash and gases are thrown into the air. Some volcanoes are covered with snow and ice. If they erupt, melted snow and ice mixes with mud and volcanic ash and flows down mountain.