What is the peep challenge?

There is no definitive Peep Challenge, some variations include contests for eating, placing them on wax paper with toothpicks inserted facing each other in the microwave for 30 seconds (a.k.a. Peep Jousting) or building dioramas (as seen in Washington Post).