Is the element mercury magnetic?

Is mercury magnetic? Yes, under the influence of an external magnetic field, mercury magnetizes and strongly repels the magnet. It is due to the presence of paired electrons that undergoes a cage diffusion phenomenon to generate a magnetic moment.