Where does the sky come from?

The "blue" of the sky is the result of the bending of sunlight through the atmosphere that surrounds the Earth. Just as you see the different spectral colors individually as light passes through a prism, the typical state of the atmosphere places us in the "blue range", as seen here from Earth.